Virginia Broadband Funding

Virginia Telecommunication Initiative (VATI)

Source: Virginia Telecommunication Initiative(VATI)

Eligible Applicant: A unit of government (Towns, Cities, Counties, EDA/IDA, Broadband/Wireless Authorities, Planning District Commissions, etc.) with a private sector provider(s) as a co-applicant.

Description: To provide financial assistance to supplement construction costs by private sector providers to extend services to areas that are presently unserved. Unserved areas are defined as having broadband speeds of 25 Mbps download and 3 Mbps upload or less. In addition, a proposed project area is considered eligible if less than 10% of serviceable units are served from any other service provider as of the date of the application for the proposed project areas.

Community Development Block Grant Planning Grant (CDBG)

Source: Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD)

Eligible Applicant: Units of local government in non-entitlement localities.

Description: Funds available for 3 areas: planning grants, local innovation grants, implementation and economic development, and large scale local level projects ~ 700K.

GO Virginia

Source: Virginia Initiative for Growth & Opportunity in Each Region (GO Virginia)

Description: Funding will be made available within all nine GO Virginia regions for regional broadband planning efforts, as well as support for select middle-mile broadband infrastructure projects focused on meeting community business needs.

Virginia Pooled Financing Program

Source: Virginia Resources Authority (VRA)

Eligible Applicant: Local governments

Description: VRA provides financing for essential projects. All VRA’s authorized project areas are eligible for financing in the Virginia Pooled Financing Program (VPFP). Since inception in 2003, over 100 local governments in Virginia have utilized this program to finance or refinance over $2 billion in infrastructure projects.

Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC)

Source: Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC)

Background: The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) is a regional economic development agency that represents a partnership of federal, state, and local government. It provides assistance for long-term development of a chronically depressed multi-state region. This region includes 25 counties and 8 independent cities in Virginia.

Virginia’s Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) provides funding to foster economic development and improve the quality of life for citizens in the Commonwealth's Appalachian area.

Eligible Projects: Projects that leverage Virginia’s cultural, natural, community, structural, business and economic assets in the Commonwealth's Appalachian Region are eligible for funding.